Copyright 2019 - Custom text here


The 2014 Australian RC Laser Championship was sailed on Emerald Lakes on Queensland’s Gold Coast  hosted by the Paradise Radio Yacht Club (PRYC) on 25/27 July. Two boats entered from Western Australia in the 24 boats fleet with a good representation from all Australian States.

The control area was on a headland  jutting into the lake so that good true courses could be set no matter the wind direction. On the Saturday morning the water was glassy with not a breath of air but soon a light NW breeze started to fill in and we had excellent sailing under ‘A’ and then ‘B’ rigs for the whole day.

The fleet had been split into two fleets and the HMS 2013 was implemented. At lunch time Dave Pruden [WA] was leading - but by the end of the day Grant Gillespie [Vic] had taken the lead. At this stage the five leading boats each represented a different State and the competition was very close.


The second day started out the same as the first - absolutely no wind and then the breeze started to fill in from the SW. During the day it gradually went around to the SE and both sails were used again. At the lunch break, Jurgen Luther [SA] had hit the front by 2 points from Graham Brown [NSW] with another 2 points back to Dave Pruden [WA]. The leading seven boats were within 12 points and there were still five races to go 

Graham Brown took the championship firmly in his hands in the last heats with a 2nd followed by 4 first places. Jurgen Luther and Paul Derwent [NSW] were equal on points after the last heat but second place went to Jurgen on a count back. There were 8 different winners in the ‘A’ fleet.

The new State Teams Shield used a special handicap system where those participants travelling furthest to participate earned the bigger reward. This resulted in the Shield going to WA because their two representatives, Dave Pruden and Rod Popham finished 4th and 5th.

The Sportsman’s Award was decided by a secret vote of all competitors and was won by Peter Burford [Qld]. PRYC organised plenty of food and drink for competitors over the two days and the Saturday evening dinner was a happy and well attended function.

The PRO Bill Clancy, scorers David Black and Ann Walker, and their experienced race committee are worth a special mention and thanks as the whole regatta proceeded without any problems and these things do not happen by chance.  

Congratulations to all the trophy winners - but really we were all winners. 

Pictures in the gallery